Skip to content

A Day I’ll Never Forget

November 30, 2010

Some days are forever etched in our mind.  Days like your birthday, Christmas, July 4 as well as September 11, 2001; December 7, 1941; are all days we remember.  I have one of those very days in my own life.  November 30, 1988 was that day.

That day started out like most other days did.  I was a junior in high school (yep, I’m really that old) and went to school then to work after school.  I was working at Toys R Us and really enjoyed my job.  Where else can you get paid to be a kid?

The day turned tragic around 11:30 that evening.  I left work and gave a guy from work a ride.  He needed a ride since he usually rode a motorcycle and it was way too cold for him to ride that to work.  He asked me for a ride and that’s the last thing I remember.

The passenger door sits against the driver's seat...

The next thing I remember is waking up in the hospital a couple of days later.  I don’t remember leaving the store, the ride, the wreck, or the ambulance.  I don’t remember getting my head smashed or bleeding all over the place.  I don’t remember the ambulance, the paramedics, or my heart being jump-started.

I don’t remember what happened to the guy who was riding with me either.  I did later learn he was thrown from the car (through the t-top) and the car landed on his wrist.  He received a cut and 3 stitches behind one ear and a broken wrist.  Definitely luck doesn’t even go close to describing it!

The one thing that sticks out about this day the most…was realizing something…realizing something that would take me months to rectify.  I realized if I would have died at that very moment…which I should have by all means…I would have died without knowing Christ.  I didn’t become a believer until May 1990.  Rather than choose to seriously consider what God had spared me from, I chose to take a different approach.  I chose to look at it this way, “If God didn’t take me when He had the chance, then He must not want me now.”  Stupid approach, but it was what I took.

Regardless of what happens for the remainder of my days, I will always look at November 30, 1988 as a defining moment in my LIFE.  What is your Defining Moment?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Allen permalink
    November 30, 2010 11:37 am

    Mike – that is some story. You are right – “luck” doesn’t come close to describing this. God’s providence kept you from hell.

    Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
    in your book were written, every one of them,
    the days that were formed for me,
    when as yet there was none of them.
    Psalm 139:16

    I am thankful for what God has done with your life!

Leave a Reply

