Skip to content

A Tale of Two Cities…my version

May 3, 2010

This is my Tale of Two Cities that have my heart.  I could start this out with the most popular line ever…but I refrain.

Downtown Nashville--1st Avenue. Monday, May 3. Photographer unknown

I sit here today watching one of the most beautiful blue skies I have seen in a while.  I have watched the last couple of days as the local and national media have covered the recent flooding here in Middle Tennessee.  I have watched and realized we are being inundated by coverage.  We can watch via HD or cell phone coverage.  If the media can’t get a picture from their HD cameras they’ll uplink via ustream from a cellphone.  It’s amazing.

I saw this picture today.  It’s pretty wild to think how many people were down in that area on Saturday night not knowing they would be one of the last ones there for a while.  I’m hearing today, downtown businesses like the Wild Horse Saloon and Joe’s Crab Shack (both popular tourist spots) will be down for a while.  No one expected it to be THIS bad…currently the Cumberland River is over 50 FEET ABOVE FLOOD STAGE!

My little town of Franklin has seen neighborhoods flooded, roads turned to rivers, and water supplies being threatened due to the inability to properly treat and clean the water.  It’s amazing how much power water can have.

Haiti...Port au Prince

Then I remember back to what I saw on January 13.  I was in Haiti the day after the earthquake. I remember looking at a city where I was less than a week earlier.  I was there signing papers for our adoption and remember thinking to myself, “This place is really looking better.  I can see why the people from the countryside want to get out and move to Port au Prince.”

I never imagined an earthquake would do that much damage in such a few short minutes.  I knew when I saw the devastation first-hand I would never be the same.  I remember the sights, the smells, and the sounds of people crying.  I remember the feeling of helplessness as I rode by those who had lost loved ones, those who were without shelter, and those in sheer shock of the situation at hand.

From Jeremy Cowart's Voices of Haiti website...check it out...this is a local pastor who lost daughter in the quake...WOW

As I thought about the hours after the earthquake and the unending coverage on the news this weekend, I couldn’t help but think about Haiti.  i hope and pray on a daily basis that we as Americans don’t forget those in Haiti who have been affected by the earthquake.

Unfortunately LIFE happened and Haiti was no longer important to the media.  I think also about my friends and neighbors surrounded by flood waters, wet houses, and missing cars.  I pray their nearness to us keeps them in our thoughts, prayers, and minds in the days to come.

Hopefully God will continue to break our hearts for those around the world…Haiti is MY place in the world where He has parked my heart.  Where is YOURS?  When you find it, you’ll know and you won’t be able to stop.

Find your place, find your city, find your heart!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

