Skip to content

Lessons from Grass

October 21, 2009
the grass I finally have growing

the grass I finally have growing

I mowed my yard recently and realized something…I have a good looking yard.  Seriously, my grass is green, thick, and looks great.  The bare spots I had in the back yard at the beginning of the summer are almost gone.  The holes and patches of uneven ground are almost non-existent at this time. I have become one of those “guys” with my grass.  I’m proud of it and I tend to compare it to the other yards in the neighborhood.  Now understand, once you enter the flower beds, the grass doesn’t matter, but the green stuff…it looks GOOD!

Funny though, 5 years ago I didn’t have any grass at all in my yard.  I had the bright idea to completely till my entire back yard.  With the help of a borrowed rototiller and a friend or two, I tilled the yard, sewed seed, rolled it as flat as possible with a giant roller, and strawed it.  I watered and watered it until the grass began to come up.  The fall and winter came and I had a pretty good sign that grass was coming.  Then the bad stuff hit.  For the next 2 summers we were in for the heat and without a lot of rain.  In fact a couple of summers ago, where we live was put under a water ban.  You couldn’t water your grass any more.  That meant certain doom for my poor pitiful but growing yard.

After the drought, I decided to do something.  I called in the professionals.  Seriously, I called Scott’s Lawn Service and got the pros to come.  They came out 6 times the first year and fertilized, treated, and sprayed my yard.  The key though is they brought nutrients I wasn’t giving my grass.  They reminded me to water, water, water, and they would take care of the rest…but I was still responsible for getting the lawn the most important need…WATER.

So when I looked at my yard after mowing it, I realized how much I am like the grass in my very yard.  I didn’t get to where I am in my journey with Christ overnight.  I’ve been through some seasons of drought.  I’ve been scorched and left for dead.  I have even been completely turned over.  I am in a spot Spiritually where I have never been before.  I’m not dying from the heat rather, I’m living in a place of constant water.

Ever wonder why Jesus refers to “Living Water” (John 4:10)?  I think after spending some time in the yard anyone can realize NOTHING grows in Middle Tennessee without some water.  Sure a cactus might be a great desert plant, but around here we need to water the flowers, the plants, the shrubs, and the yard.  We get some amazing rainfall occasionally (especially this year) which takes care of it for us, but most of the time we’re responsible for watering what we want to grow.

I think that’s very similar to where we need to be Spiritually.  We need the LIVING WATER to bring LIFE to our dry souls. Ever spent time AWAY from the LIVING WATER…Christ?  You know what drying up and dying feels like…

Also, I think it’s important to realize it takes a while to develop Spiritual maturity.  Of course we know that and even teach that, but remembering that when things are going so fast can be difficult.  At times, it feels like it’s a little overwhelming and if you’re not focused on Christ, well…let’s just say it’s gonna getcha.

Consider this:

6“All men are like grass,
and all their glory is like the flowers of the field.

7 The grass withers and the flowers fall,
because the breath of the Lord blows on them.
Surely the people are grass.

8 The grass withers and the flowers fall,
but the word of our God stands forever.”  Isaiah 40:6b-8

Don’t get so caught up in the grass you take your eyes off the LIVING WATER…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

