Skip to content

I’m a proud Dad…

October 16, 2009

I have been debating about whether to brag about something or not.  I seriously have.  I know a few people who read this will immediately say, “If you’re a Dad, BRAG on your kids!”  I know it’s ok and I know it’s great for their confidence.  The bottom line though is I don’t want to come across sounding like “THAT” relative you have.  You know the one.  The one who says, “Oh, your little Sally rode her bicycle all by herself without training wheels?  I know when MY LITTLE _______ was that age, she rode a dirt bike at the X-Games and won the silver medal, finishing second to Travis Pastrana.”  (follow the links for the humor and irony to find out what’s WRONG with that sentence) I LOATHE THOSE PEOPLE!!!  Yes, I know I used the word LOATHE, but it’s a euphemism, not an actual, so congratulate me for my restraint.  I know I share a lot about our lives with Lane, but here’s some info on the others…

So, at the risk of sounding a little like a bragging Dad, here goes:

The past few weeks have been awesome in our world.  We are struggling in some areas–like finding a church to call home, waiting patiently on our adoption, and watching the time fly by WAY too fast as our boys grow up.  BUT, we are having some amazing moments that are building memories like crazy.  In the past month our kids have done the following:

Dyllan singing at Disney on Ice

Dyllan singing at Disney on Ice

Dyllan: He’s stood up on stage and sang in front of tens of thousands of people over the past two weekends  in Nashville and Charlotte  (and will be doing it again this weekend in Atlanta).  He has been singing a song he wrote, called, “Let’s Get This Party Started.”  It’s been an unbelievable ride.  You can check it out on Facebook HERE.  He has been doing what God has gifted him to do.  It’s a little more than amazing.  He created a Facebook Fan Page (at the urging of his agent) and on Monday, October 5, had 164 fans.  As of last Friday he had over 500 and today over 700!  He has had kids who have been negative in days past come to him to tell him he’s doing a good thing.  They are even fans of his!  He has t-shirts he designed on his own and CD singles!  My son is awesome!  I’m a proud Dad–oh yeah, he’s 13!

E-Dub after a 32-0 win!  His team is 5-1 so far.

E-Dub after a 32-0 win! His team is 5-1 so far.

E-Dub:  He doesn’t have a website…YET.  He’s amazing.  He’s my hip hop dancer.  He’ll spin on his head, break it down, and then strap his helmet on for football practice.  This year when he started football, he was a little more than timid.  The last 2 years for him haven’t exactly been “amazing” on the football field.  He was the kid who played 5-6 plays a game and was happy with it.  This year, he’s starting at tight end, getting  the chance to catch the ball occasionally, and he is doing AWESOME.  That’s right, He’s doing AWESOME.  He’s getting to play some on defense and even run the ball some.  It’s so cool to watch him come into his own.  He is really an incredible athlete.  Seriously could be good…as long as he wants to.  E-Dub is my “do what I want to do when I want to do IF I want to do it” child…and I couldn’t be a more proud Dad!  He is a featured back in the new “WILDCAT” offense and on his first run got tackled by the facemask…needless to say, he was NOT amused!  Nevertheless, he is back running the ball…something I think he’s always wanted to do, just didn’t want to draw a lot of attention to himself about it.

Happy 12th Birthday LANE!

Happy 12th Birthday LANE!

Lane:  He’s doing awesome.  His 12th birthday party turned out to be AMAZING. Even though we had to scrap the plans last minute for the party to be moved to the garage at the house, He had fun.  He is doing great in school and is one of E-Dub’s biggest fans on the field.  He has learned the COWBOY cheers and shouts them out at the game.  Those of us who speak “Lane” understand him and smile on the outside and IN!

Kate-Dawg at her 21st Birthday Party!

Kate-Dawg at her 21st Birthday Party!

Katie:  She’s doing great.  I know some of you don’t know Katie well, but she’s our unofficially official daughter.  She’s lived with us for 5 years now and is every bit a part of our family.  She’s getting ready to move to Haiti for 6 months.  That’s right, she’s going to be in Haiti.  She’s going to be going to the orphanage where Missy and I are adopting from and living there and working with the babies (how ironic Tia is there…) and teaching them English.  The truth is, she’s going to be doing a ton of stuff and we are so proud that she slowed down, got quiet, and heard God’s call.  She’s going to do some amazing things in Haiti and will help the children there so much.  We will be taking Mission teams there through BGM and she will be such a huge help in getting those groups to feel at home…since we’ll be coming to her home!  We are so proud to have her a part of our family and she’s another reason I’m such a proud DAD!

Tia:  She’ll be here soon…whenever  that is.  We are constantly praying for her and looking forward to her joining us at the house.  Keep up with the journey on the Adoption Blog.

Finally, Missy:  She’s an amazing Wife and MOM.  She’s pressing close to God these days and as her husband I couldn’t be more proud.  I’m watching God take her and mold her and stretch her into something amazing.  It’s a joy to be around her and watch God change her into an even GREATER person.  I think she’s pretty amazing!!!

YES!!

YES!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2009 3:03 pm

    I love all these Wilsons so freakin much. LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE!!!!!

  2. Fern permalink
    October 16, 2009 6:29 pm

    Well I am proud of all of you including you Dad! The Wilsons are awesome and I am blessed that they are all my friends.

  3. Sherry Wilson permalink
    October 17, 2009 1:44 am

    All that I can say is “let it ALL come out “DAD”!! To read this and understand and feel your love for my grandsons and Katie and Missy makes me stick my head up high in the air and say “these are MY family” and boy am I ever proud of each and every one of them!!!!
    I find it so touching to read about how God is blessing each of you and this makes me to want my house to sell really FAST!! I know it is going to be a great thing for your dad and me just to be closer to our family, visit oftener than we are now able to, and enjoy their “special” events and moments as many times as we can!!
    WOW!!! YOU GUYS ARE THE GREATEST!!
    Love you all dearly,
    Mom/Nanny

  4. Sandy permalink
    January 1, 2010 10:52 pm

    Hi Mike and Missy,
    I just wanted to let you know how inspiring you both are! I love what the Lord has done with you both. I pray he uses me to serve in such great ways. It would be amazing if my husband and I could join the fight as one, like you both have done. Please pray that God shows us how to serve him best. Thank you for all the great work you do for the Lord. Please pray for my #1
    God Bless you,
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

