Skip to content

Sick of the DEBATE!

October 8, 2009

As I take Dyllan and Lane to school each morning, I listen to the Rick and Bubba Show.  I love it.  It’s a great show with a great message and more often than not I find myself agreeing wholeheartedly with the guys and guests.

Yesterday I heard the guys talking about Michael Moore, the movie director…liberal…and political pot-stirrer.  They played a snippet of an interview Mr. Moore had done with Sean Hannity (you’ll have to find the clip on YouTube…too many exist for me to link to).

Now, I must provide this disclaimer:  I HATE POLITICS!  Literally HATE it.  I hate what I see it doing to good people.  I hate what it does to our country.  I hate what it does to my friends.  Politics is one of the few catalysts in the world which can cause groups to argue, fight, and war…all in the name of the political system.

Now I want to add this disclaimer:  I completely support our Country, our troops fighting on behalf of me around the world, and our government.  I might not agree with much of it, but I’m called to suck up my thoughts and support the authority over me.  I have a chance to voice my frustrations properly, but in the end, I’m not living under a Nero or Pilate…

I  began to think, after hearing Mr. Moore describe himself as simply, “Christian,” How many people just associate themselves with the word, “Christian” because they believe it’s right, but have NO Christ or His teachings within their version of Christianity.  This is not an indictment on Mr. Moore, rather an observation as to what we’ve become.

I think it’s pretty safe to say we have become a people of opinions.  We like to debate others who don’t share our opinions.  We challenge everything and everyone who opposes us or even suggests something we don’t like…it’s our God-given American right!  We ain’t gotta put up with that nonsense from ANYONE…

…the problem as I see it, is we have transferred that opinion to EVERY aspect of LIFE.  We don’t respect authority any longer…especially around other believers and in the church.  A lot of this is seasoned with dealing with so much at a church going through a lawsuit from members…er well EX members now.  I see the whole thing transpired because people didn’t like what they saw, who was in a position of perceived power, and the only way to get “THEIR” way (or their perception of what God wanted) was to revolt.  In this particular case, they decided legal action was necessary.

So, let’s just carry out this little scenario further.  What happens when we read something in Scripture we don’t understand or better yet, something we don’t agree with?  Seriously, what do YOU do when you read Jesus’ HARD WORDS.  Check this out:

60 On hearing it, many of his disciples said, “This is a hard teaching. Who can accept it?”
61 Aware that his disciples were grumbling about this, Jesus said to them, “Does this offend you? 62 What if you see the Son of Man ascend to where he was before!  63 The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing. The words I have spoken to you are spirit and they are life. 64 Yet there are some of you who do not believe.” For Jesus had known from the beginning which of them did not believe and who would betray him. (emphasis mine)

65 He went on to say, “This is why I told you that no one can come to me unless the Father has enabled him.”

66 From this time many of his disciples turned back and no longer followed him.

John 6:60-66

Do you think we will ever get to the point where we can look at Jesus and say, it’s just too hard?  Will we look at His holiness and perfection and say with our whole hearts, I don’t agree with you on this.  Will we tell Jesus, I think you need to change for me.  I do.  If a person who could walk with the physical Jesus, see Him, hear Him, witness His miraculous LIFE, could look at Him and say it’s too hard, I believe we will be there.

I believe we’re already there in many cases.  We change and mold and adapt to a friendlier version of a Christ-less Christianity so others will have a “say-so” in what happens.  We have become a people who love to DEBATE and who love to hear the sound of our own heads roar.  Many look forward to gathering with other believers only for the hope of a good argument.  Let’s face it, many church activities and things done in the name of church “business” are nothing more than a train-wreck waiting to happen.  Catch the wrong person on the wrong day with the wrong words and you’ll have threats and name calling…all in the name of Jesus!  What a bunch of CRAP!!!

I admit, Christianity IS hard.  It’s COMPLETELY counter to the old LIFE we lived.  It’s a NEW LIFE which springs up in us.  It causes us to come in conflict with our old selfish desires and thoughts.  It causes us to stand up against wrong in places and stand for right in other places.  It causes us to be radically different.  But it also causes us to listen to Him and let Him be the ultimate.

Do you like to debate? Do you find yourself debating Him?  Do you accept what He says or is He leaving so much “up for interpretation” for you?  Maybe it’s time for a real LIFE gut-check.  BE the Gospel.  You want to see lives change and know Christ?  Let YOURS be first.

Just some thoughts I’ve been thinkin…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

